« Go Back   « Go Back
Candidate Key
 
 
 
 
 
Summary

The law requires all drivers and passengers to wear properly adjusted and fastened safety belts while traveling in motor vehicles on public ways. It does not apply to: children under five years old who are required by another law to wear safety belts or be restrained in safety car seats; passengers in vehicles where all safety belts are being used by others; passengers in buses; persons riding in vehicles built before July 1,1966, or in which safety belts were not installed as original equipment; or persons who are certified by a physician to be physically unable to use safety belts. The law also does not apply to police officers, rural mail carriers, or drivers or passengers of other vehicles that stop frequently and travel at speeds not exceeding 15 miles per hour between stops.

Drivers or passengers sixteen years or older who do not wear safety belts are subject to a $15.00 fine. The driver of a vehicle is also subject to a $15.00 fine for each passenger under sixteen who does not wear a safety belt. This law, however, can be enforced only if the driver is stopped for a violation of another motor vehicle law. Safety belt violations will not result in surcharges on motor vehicle insurance premiums. The law also requires that when the Commissioner of Insurance sets motor vehicle insurance rates, the rates must reflect any savings attributable to increased use of safety belts.

The law also requires that all motor vehicles manufactured after September 1,1989, that are sold or registered in Massachusetts be equipped with crash protection devices, as specified by federal regulations. Any manufacturer who sells or delivers motor vehicles that are not equipped with such safety devices will be subject to a fine of not more than $100 for each sale or delivery. This law is not intended to eliminate the federal requirements for passive crash protection devices in motor vehicles.

The law also provides that a non-binding question, unlike this binding referendum, shall be placed on the 1986 general election ballot asking whether the voters approve of the law.

1986 Nov 4 :: State of Massachusetts :: Question 5 :: ReferendumDo you approve of a law summarized below, which was approved by the House of Representatives on October 17, 1985, by a vote of 77-62, and which was approved by the Senate on October 17, 1985?

View as: # | %  
Ward
Yes
No
Blank Votes Total Votes Cast Total Ballots Cast
Totals
 
9,841
12,347
1,602
22,188
23,790
Precinct 1
 
241
406
82
647
729
Precinct 2
 
146
265
34
411
445
Precinct 3
 
173
325
26
498
524
Precinct 4
 
179
331
27
510
537
Precinct 5
 
163
249
28
412
440
Precinct 1
 
75
132
35
207
242
Precinct 2
 
299
242
46
541
587
Precinct 3
 
115
155
20
270
290
Precinct 4
 
265
262
44
527
571
Precinct 5
 
300
247
36
547
583
Precinct 6
 
189
259
34
448
482
Precinct 1
 
312
364
74
676
750
Precinct 2
 
278
300
49
578
627
Precinct 3
 
288
330
43
618
661
Precinct 4
 
256
313
30
569
599
Precinct 5
 
257
270
34
527
561
Precinct 1
 
284
420
48
704
752
Precinct 2
 
174
253
47
427
474
Precinct 3
 
318
365
39
683
722
Precinct 4
 
325
429
40
754
794
Precinct 5
 
230
424
56
654
710
Precinct 6
 
209
427
41
636
677
Precinct 1
 
217
339
55
556
611
Precinct 2
 
240
315
42
555
597
Precinct 3
 
304
336
55
640
695
Precinct 4
 
251
354
22
605
627
Precinct 5
 
191
333
33
524
557
Precinct 6
 
266
375
34
641
675
Precinct 1
 
345
374
42
719
761
Precinct 2
 
373
358
39
731
770
Precinct 3
 
370
296
34
666
700
Precinct 4
 
285
267
31
552
583
Precinct 5
 
299
228
23
527
550
Precinct 1
 
285
400
50
685
735
Precinct 2
 
286
305
28
591
619
Precinct 3
 
357
351
40
708
748
Precinct 4
 
450
522
89
972
1,061
Precinct 5
 
246
426
72
672
744
Totals
 
9,841
12,347
1,602
22,188
23,790